

31.10.2012 09:30 Uhr - Europameisterschaft - Gruppe C - PM dhb.de, red

Melbeck missing: Germany names team of 28 for Euro

The German Handball-Federation named today the 28 players for the Euro in Serbia, which will be played from 4th to 16th of December. National Coach Heine Jensen is only allowed to choose players of this squad for the tournament in Serbia. Also changes during the tournament are only allowed with the now named players. The Germans are not only missing retired Grit Jurack, because of an injury Steffi Melbeck will miss the tournament in Serbia, too.

'I have to heal up the injury completely', said Melbeck. Muscle fibres in her calves are torn, so she will be sidelined up to the end of December. 'Playing a EURO wihtout any preparations would put a great strain on the muscle and would not help the team', said Melbeck and added: 'That says the mind, but my heart is bleeding.' Now Anja Althaus will be with thirty years the oldest and with 198 international matches also the most experienced player in the German squad.

The Germans will play two test-matches right before the EURO. On 24th and 25th November they will face in front of home-crowd in Münster and Hamm the team of Romania. In the preliminary round of the Euro the German opponents in Serbian Novi Sad are Spain, Hungary and Croatia. Three of the teams will get the ticket for the next round.

German 28 for Women's EURO in Serbia

Katja Schülke (HC Leipzig) Clara Woltering (Buducnost Podgorica/MNE) Jana Krause (Buxtehuder SV) Maike März (Thüringer HC)

Marlene Zapf (TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen) Maxi Hayn (Buxtehuder SV) Friederike Lütz (Buxtehuder SV) Maike Schirmer (VfL Oldenburg) Anne Hubinger (HC Leipzig) Susann Müller (RK Krim/SLO) Christine Beier (Frankfurter HC) Isabell Klein (Buxtehuder SV) Nadja Nadgornaja (Thüringer HC) Franziska Mietzner (Frankfurter HC) Laura Steinbach (TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen) Saskia Lang (HC Leipzig) Angie Geschke (Vag Vipers Kristiansand/NOR) Jessica Oldenburg (Buxtehuder SV) Natalie Augsburg (HC Leipzig) Kim Birke (VfL Oldenburg) Lone Fischer (Buxtehuder SV) Kim Naidzinavicius (TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen) Anna Loerper (Team Tvis Holstebro/DEN) Kerstin Wohlbold (Thüringer HC) Wiebke Kethorn (VfL Oldenburg) Anne Müller (HC Leipzig) Anja Althaus (Thüringer HC) Luisa Schulze (HC Leipzig)

handball-world.com Ausdruck vom: 10.05.2024